Shaker Road - Loudonville Fire Department .
Shaker Road - Loudonville Fire Department
The Shaker Road Fire Department was formally organized in 1932 when thirty members met and elected James J. Naughter President and Arthur G. Emerick Chief. The original station was located at 526 Albany Shaker Road at the site of an old Sunday School House. Our original pumper was a 1918 White obtained from the Albany Fire Department. A newer station was constructed up the road in 1949 and remained our main station until 1989 when our current station was constructed. Our second station, built in 1972 to meet the needs of our growing district is located on Old Niskayuna Road.
Since the 30s, Shaker Road has gone through many changes from membership to the apparatus we respond with. Today we stand 150+ male and female members strong with the latest training, equipment and apparatus and respond to an average of about 750 calls a year. Our department boasts a fine blend of eager newcomers with the experience of its older members. We continue to look to our community to fill the ranks of our firefighters, our Explorer Post and our Auxiliary.
Raffle River has helped Shaker Road - Loudonville Fire Department
Greg Zeh, Main Contact
Join The Team